DUI Florida Vehicle Immobilization

Florida DUI Vehicle Immobilization, DUI Vehicle Immobilization, Vehicle Immobilization,  Immobilization
Florida DUI Vehicle Immobilization

Florida DUI Vehicle Immobilization

Florida DUI law sometimes requires a vehicle immobilization. If you need to have this service as a condition of a DUI sentence of probation, this immobilization service offers a quick and discreet way to immobilize your vehicle using a club that attaches from the steering wheel to the brake. One low price whether it’s a 10, 30, 60 or 90 day immobilization. Payment is accepted at the beginning or at the completion of the immobilization. The service is a licensed service provider, with over 10 years experience, for Court ordered probation in Hillsborough, Pinellas, Polk and Pasco counties. The service can be reached at 813-598-8442.

Florida DUI Vehicle Immobilization Laws

316.193 Driving under the influence; penalties. (6) With respect to any person convicted of a violation of subsection (1) . . . [the court must] order the impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle that was operated by or in the actual control of the defendant or any one vehicle registered in the defendant’s name at the time of impoundment or immobilization, for a period of 10 days or for the unexpired term of any lease or rental agreement that expires within 10 days. The impoundment or immobilization must not occur concurrently with the incarceration of the defendant. The impoundment or immobilization order may be dismissed in accordance with paragraph (e), paragraph (f), paragraph (g), or paragraph (h).

 (e) A person who owns but was not operating the vehicle when the offense occurred may submit to the court a police report indicating that the vehicle was stolen at the time of the offense or documentation of having purchased the vehicle after the offense was committed from an entity other than the defendant or the defendant’s agent. If the court finds that the vehicle was stolen or that the sale was not made to circumvent the order and allow the defendant continued access to the vehicle, the order must be dismissed and the owner of the vehicle will incur no costs. If the court denies the request to dismiss the order of impoundment or immobilization, the petitioner may request an evidentiary hearing.

(f) A person who owns but was not operating the vehicle when the offense occurred, and whose vehicle was stolen or who purchased the vehicle after the offense was committed directly from the defendant or the defendant’s agent, may request an evidentiary hearing to determine whether the impoundment or immobilization should occur. If the court finds that either the vehicle was stolen or the purchase was made without knowledge of the offense, that the purchaser had no relationship to the defendant other than through the transaction, and that such purchase would not circumvent the order and allow the defendant continued access to the vehicle, the order must be dismissed and the owner of the vehicle will incur no costs.

(g) The court shall also dismiss the order of impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle if the court finds that the family of the owner of the vehicle has no other private or public means of transportation.

(h) The court may also dismiss the order of impoundment or immobilization of any vehicles that are owned by the defendant but that are operated solely by the employees of the defendant or any business owned by the defendant.

We have previously written about Florida DUI Vehicle Immobilization here:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.