Under New Jersey law, a person with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher who operates a vehicle is considered to be illegally driving under the influence (DUI). Depending on the size and weight of the driver, it can only take a couple of drinks to have a BAC above the legal limit. Juveniles face even more severe restrictions.
Individuals under the age of 21 can be convicted of a DUI if they have a BAC of only .01 percent or greater. This means even a portion of a drink may be enough for an underage driver to have a BAC above the legal limit. Young drivers who have had a drink before driving will face a number of penalties that can adversely affect their future.
Drivers under the age of 21 with a BAC of .01 percent or higher could face a 30- to 90-day license suspension, 15 to 30 days of mandatory community service, and mandatory attendance at an alcohol education and highway safety program at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Drivers who are under age 17 at the time of the incident are subject to a delay in the processing of their driver license for 30 to 90 days. There are additional New Jersey DUI penalties if the act of driving under the influence resulted in an accident or injuries.
Young adults and juveniles who are charged with a DUI would be well advised to protect their best interests by contacting a skilled defense attorney. The NJ juvenile DUI attorneys at Lependorf & Silverstein know how to fight underage DUI charges and how to keep our young people out of juvenile detention and jail. To discuss your legal rights and options at absolutely no cost, please call us at (609) 240-0040 today.