Colorado DWAI Versus DUI: What’s the Difference?

Colorado law imposes separate sets of penalties for people convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) or driving while their ability is impaired by alcohol or drugs (DWAI). Because a DWAI charge or conviction is based on different facts than a DUI charge or conviction, it helps to know a bit about the difference between the two.

In Colorado, a DWAI charge requires a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.05 percent to 0.08 percent. BAC is typically tested using a breath or blood sample, which is most often collected at, or just before, an arrest. A first DWAI conviction includes penalties like eight license points, up to $500 in fines, up to 180 days in jail, and up to 48 hours of community service.

gavel_562027.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Colorado DWAI Versus DUI: What’s the Difference?

Colorado law imposes separate sets of penalties for people convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) or driving while their ability is impaired by alcohol or drugs (DWAI). Because a DWAI charge or conviction is based on different facts than a DUI charge or conviction, it helps to know a bit about the difference between the two.

In Colorado, a DWAI charge requires a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.05 percent to 0.08 percent. BAC is typically tested using a breath or blood sample, which is most often collected at, or just before, an arrest. A first DWAI conviction includes penalties like eight license points, up to $500 in fines, up to 180 days in jail, and up to 48 hours of community service.

gavel_562027.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.